Eric Clapton - Time Pieces (1982)

Album details

Label:     Ref#: blues-0003
Date: 1982   Category: blues
Length: 44:56    
Format: CD    
Audio: Stereo    
Genre: Soft Rock, Classic Rock    


Featuring tunes culled from a handful of albums released in the '70s, TIME PIECES is a great representation of Eric Clapton's transition from high-flying guitar hero to a more subdued and introspective singer/songwriter/interpreter. In embracing a style influenced by the Band and country singer Don Williams, Clapton's work became more diverse. When Slowhand wasn't turning J.J. Cale into a household name ("Cocaine," "After Midnight") he was doing the same thing for Bob Marley and reggae music.
After taking Marley's "I Shot The Sheriff" to the top of the charts in 1974, Clapton's immersion in this then-exotic genre further manifested itself on his versions of Dylan's "Knockin' On Heaven's Door" and the traditional gospel hymn "Swing Low Sweet Chariot." E.C.'s output during this period also documented the heartbreak ("Layla") and eventual triumph ("Wonderful Tonight") encountered in his pursuit of Patti Boyd (aka Mrs. George Harrison).<P>1. I Shot the Sheriff
2. After Midnight
3. Knockin' on Heaven's Door
4. Wonderful Tonight
5. Layla - (with Derek & The Dominos)
6. Cocaine
7. Lay Down Sally
8. Willie and the Hand Jive
9. Promises
10. Swing Low Sweet Chariot
11. Let It Grow


1.   I Shot The Sheriff  4:23
2.   After Midnight  3:08
3.   Knockin' On Heaven's Door  4:21
4.   Wonderful Tonight  3:39
5.   Layla  7:06
6.   Cocaine  3:34
7.   Lay Down Sally  3:49
8.   Willie And The Hand Jive  3:28
9.   Promises  3:00
10.   Swing Low Sweet Chariot  3:29
11.   Let It Grow  4:55