Montero, Gabriela - Bach and Beyond (2005)

Album details

Label:     Ref#: classical-0002
Date: 2005   Category: classical
Length: 54:53    
Format: CD    
Audio: Stereo    
Genre: Classical    


Taking as her base 12 works of Bach, Venezuelan pianist Gabriela Montero proceeds to play variations on each. The works are familiar and most Classical fans will recognize their melodies instantly. But Montero, who is closer to a jazz improvisationalist than a classical pianist merely embellishing, alters rhythm as well as melody, and the results are invariably both surprising and delightful. The Presto from the Italian Concerto is positively wacky, but "Jesu, Joy of Man's Desiring" sticks to the piece's mood with truth and originality. Montero plays "beyond" Bach with good taste and respect, and always with intense musicality. The results may seem improvised, but I doubt they are---they seem to well worked through---but that is more of a plus than a minus. You'll revel in hearing old favorites "interpreted" and find some unexpected pleasures here. --Robert Levine


1.   Jesu bleibet meine Freude (aus Kantate BWV 147)  5:25
2.   Presto (ais Italienisches Konzert BWV 971)  2:33
3.   Beyond Bach  4:23
4.   Air G-Dur (aus Orchester-Suite Nr. 3 D Dur BWV 1068)  3:29
5.   Aria (aus Goldberg Variationen BWV 988)  7:36
6.   Adagio (aus Violinkonzert Nr. 2 BWV 1042)  5:01
7.   Präludium C Dur (aus Wohltemperiertes Klavier Teil I)  4:18
8.   Weide meine Schafe (aus Jagdkantate BWV 208)  3:46
9.   Zweistimmige Invention d Moll BWV 775  2:40
10.   Allegro (aus Brandenburgisches Konzert Nr. 3 G Dur BWV 1048)  6:03
11.   Adagio (aus Klavierkonzert d Moll BWV 974)  6:23
12.   Toccata d Moll BWV 565  3:11