Bryan Ferry - As Time Goes By (1999)

Album details

Label:     Ref#: jazz-0006
Date: 1999   Category: jazz
Length: 44:37    
Format: CD    
Audio: Stereo    
Genre: Easy Listening    


No stranger to covers, Bryan Ferry has often opted for classics from other times and places. As Time Goes By focuses on music largely from the 1930s and '40s and conjures that era's aura of fine cigars, sateen gowns, and gentlemanly romance. The opening title track summons images of Bogie and Ingrid, and is one of the finest moments in the collection. The swanky versions of Nina Simone's signature "Love Me or Leave Me" and "I'm in the Mood for Love" (which has a faint Martin Denny overtone) are perfectly suited to Ferry's low-key vocals (he's no real crooner, let's face it). His talented band swings with fervor, especially on the upbeat tunes "The Way You Look Tonight," "Lover Come Back to Me," and "Just One of Those Things." There are a number of intimate, romantic moments, but the highlight is Ferry's take on "Falling in Love Again," first made famous way back when with devastating sadness by Marlene Dietrich. Ferry's version is almost as moving. --Lorry Fleming


1.   As Time Goes By  2:34
2.   The Way You Look Tonight  3:36
3.   Easy Living  2:16
4.   I'm In The Mood For Love  4:17
5.   Where Or When  3:19
6.   When Somebody Thinks...  2:57
7.   Sweet And Lovely  3:10
8.   Miss Otis Regrets  2:39
9.   Time On My Hands  3:02
10.   Lover Come Back To Me  2:54
11.   Falling In Love Again  2:26
12.   Love Me Or Leave Me  2:44
13.   You Do Something To Me  2:47
14.   Just One Of Those Things  2:46
15.   September Song  3:03